A brief, open love letter to Fridays

Looking outside and seeing a gorgeous sunny day with a weekend spent with family and friends just hours away has inspired me to insane sappiness.  You can’t say you haven’t been warned …

Friday, I know I’ve never said it even though I feel like I’ve always shown it, but I want to tell you that I love you.

When it comes to days of the week, you’re the tops.  You’re the finish line I can’t wait to cross at the end of the work week and you’re the glorious gateway to endless possibilities of fun and relaxation.

You have it all and I appreciate you more than ever.

I spent more than a decade working at newspapers where Friday was almost never Friday.  Sometimes, frustratingly, Fridays were my Mondays.  While most of the world was entering a fun weekend I was clocking in for the start of my work week.  In that world sometimes Tuesdays or Wednesdays were my Friday and there’s nothing exciting about that.  Good luck finding friends who are available to hang out in the middle of the week.

Social life? What social life?

But I’ve been free of that rapidly-declining environment for several years and I love Fridays with all my heart.  I relish the fact that every week I can sit here on my lunch break and know without a doubt that I’m heading into a couple of great days with my wife and kids.   There’s no family gathering, A’s game or special event that I have to miss because I’m on the clock late into the night in a newsroom.

That’s right Friday, you’re special and I want you to know it.

And now, for your viewing pleasure, the lovely Dido …

Leave a Reply

