Back from the holidays and trying to blog while being buried up to my neck in diapers

What happens to all the stuff that doesn’t neatly fit into a baseball post, The Junkball 10, Dead Celebrity Friday, the occasional happy birthday salute or a random standalone blog entry? It gets served up as Mental Leftovers …

Am I the laziest blogger in the world? When a baby, the holidays, a cold/flu bug and a return to work collide it sure seems like it. So here I am, trying to crank out a quick post and get “The Elmo Slide” off the top of the page.

* As usual, my sincere apologies go out to the dead celebrities I have ignored for about a month. Feel free to descend on  my house to haunt and entertain me. I’ll try and get back on the ball next week with a Dead Celebrity Friday.

* My wife went overboard for Christmas and got me an iPad. A healthy, beautiful newborn daughter was more than enough to make me happy through the holidays but who am I so say no to a shiny new tech toy?

I had a silly notion that I’d be able to comfortably blog from the living room any time of day with my gift but that clearly hasn’t been the case. In fact, it feels like the moment I pick it up one of our kids starts crying and I have to drop the iPad like it’s a hot potato.

One of these days I’ll actually post something from my awesome little smudge magnet.

* One thing I missed out on this Christmas was sitting down, relaxing and enjoying some of my favorite holiday movies. I was a little too busy changing diapers to work my way from “Die Hard” to “GoodFellas” with some classics like “It’s a Wonderful Life” and “A Christmas Story” thrown in for good measure.

* Maybe I’m just cranky from being sick for almost 2 weeks, but some of the coverage of the Arizona shooting is kind of getting on my nerves. It seems like a lot of the early knee-jerk reaction has been to blame Jared Lee Loughner’s despicable actions on the aggressive tone of politics in America today.

I can see that’s an easy story angle to take if you have to file a story ASAP.  A kid takes a shot at a Democrat so he must be a rightwing nutjob/Tea Party freak, right?  It also helps drive the story when the local sheriff wastes no time blaming the incident on politics.

But until I see a direct line drawn from Loughner’s motivation behind pulling the trigger to any political movement on either side of the aisle I’m not buying into the hype.

Have you seen the kid’s mugshot? Have you read about his Internet posts and behavior in school? As far as I can tell Loughner isn’t some political zealot, he’s simply bat-shit crazy.

Until I see some hard news to change my opinion this is just one more violent and senseless act by a violent and senseless person. Rushing to judgment and blaming it on modern politics just comes across as lazy and partisan.

* On a happier and lighter note, the 49ers finally got their man and hired Jim Harbaugh as head coach. It looks like San Francisco’s front office got something right for the first time in close to a decade.

Team president Jed York deserves some credit even though the search for a general manager that eventually led to the hiring of Trent Baalke was a sham and the Harbaugh courtship was a circus because in the end the 49ers grabbed the hottest coaching prospect in the universe.

I’d say this move buys the team about 3 years of good will with the 49er Faithful. Most fans understand that the team doesn’t have anything vaguely resembling a legitimate starting quarterback and Harbaugh is going to need some time to draft and develop a young QB into a star like he did with Josh Johnson and Andrew Luck in college.

For the first time in years there’s hope for a fresh start and a bright future in San Francisco.

* I’ve been seeing a lot of commercials lately for The Vanilla Ice Project on DIY Network where Ice brags about his ability to remodel homes.  Wouldn’t it be more appropriate if he went into a home someone else skillfully remodeled, threw some garish paint on a wall and put up some ugly drapes in the living room and then took credit for most of the remodeling project?  Isn’t that pretty much what he did when he ripped off Queen while making “Ice Ice Baby?”

* Last week’s WTF moment: I heard on the radio while driving home one night that John Mellencamp and Meg Ryan are an item. What is sweet little Meg thinking?

Don’t get me wrong, I like some of the music produced by the artist formerly known as John Cougar.  But can’t Meg do a little better?  Even in her too-much-plastic-surgery-and-Botox years she should be able to land someone with a little glitz than Mellencamp. Smart money says he probably smells like an ash tray and cheap beer.

Meg never should have quit Dennis Quaid.

* Is anyone else out there slightly terrified by the fact that Oprah Winfrey suddenly has her own television network? Oprah is just too big and too powerful and the world is clearly not enough for her.

She could probably have me killed just for writing that.

I may have to go into hiding before she sends Stedman Graham after me.

2 thoughts on “Back from the holidays and trying to blog while being buried up to my neck in diapers

  1. Hi, Jason,

    First of all thanks for listing my blog in your blog roll. I’ll check mine and if I haven’t already done so, I’ll add yours to mine.

    I couldn’t agree with you more about the knee-jerk lazy reaction of the media about what motivated nut-job Jared Loughner to do what he did in Tuscon. He’s a wacko. End of story. There is not a shred of evidence to the contrary. Irresponsible journalism!

    Enjoy your little ones. They grow up much too fast. Before you know it they will be off to school and you’ll mist the real wonder years when they are figuring out how the world works. They are amazing!

    Take care, Go A’s!

    Bee

Leave a Reply

