Mental leftovers

A Sunday swing through all the odds and ends that didn't quite fit into any other blog post during the week …

*  Miracle of miracles, my wife and I finally watched our Netflix rental this weekend.

It only took about 2 months to pop "Hancock" (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0448157/) into the Blu-ray player.  Gotta admit that I wasn't too impressed.

There was comedy, action, some fantasy, some odd efforts at emptional intimacy but not enough of any of the above to make "Hancock: anything special.

You're welcome for the free money Netflix, now send me another movie I can procrastinate about for several weeks.

*  A friend asked me at a recent lunch with me and my wife if I've gained any sympathy weight as my wife's pregnancy has progressed into the third trimester.

Yeah, sure, it's all sympathy weight.

If my monster gut and swelling chin is sympathy weight then I must have sympathy for all the suffering in the world.

* For all of you aspiring rappers out there, here's a classic primer on rapping from none other than Mr. T: http://www.5min.com/Video/How-to-Rap-according-to-Mr-T-55380303

* Welcome back to Oakland Jason Giambi.

Oh his first day at spring training with the A's, G unleashed this gem when a reporter asked him how long he intends to keep playing baseball (

 
"Until they tear this 'uni' off me. What else am I gonna do? Maybe be a bouncer at strip joints. That's about all I'm qualified to do."

I've missed that crazy bastard.

It should be fun watching him swing for th fences in green and gold again this season.

Leave a Reply

