A dinner like no other

I never thought I would write something like this, but here it goes: My wife's aunt slipped me the tongue this weekend and I kind of liked it.

Fortunately, it was just beef tongue and it actually tasted pretty good … considering the fact that it's a cow's tongue.

Yeah, that's right.  I got duped into eating beef tongue this weekend.

It all started when my aunt-in-law casually and kindly asked me if I'd like some beef out of one of the serving bowls making the rounds at the dinner table on Saturday night.

Since I'm a die-hard fan of red meat not only did I say yes, I enthusiastically asked for a few slices.  Considering that everything else my in-laws cooked that night tasted great, there was no reason to think the bowl full of sliced beef should be any different, right?

So I dug in, shoving forkfull after forkfull of beef tongue into my mouth, dismissing the laughter of my wife and in-laws as the usual ruckus at a family dinner.

They didn't reveal the fact that I had been punk'd until the end of the meal.  I just love that kind of tongue-in-cheek humor even when it's actually a cow's tongue in my cheek.

I can only hope that I tasted as good to the cow tongue as it tasted to me.

Leave a Reply

