I am an F-B-I agent!

I'm ready for my closeup. 

It's time to pack my bags, head to L.A. and take my shot at being Johnny Utah.

There's really no good explanation for this, but I got bored this afternoon and Googled "Point Break," the Keanu Reeves/Patrick Swayze/Gary Busey classic about an FBI agent chasing a band of bank-robbing surfers. 

My boredom paid off when I stumbled across Point Break Live (http://www.myspace.com/pointbreaklive) which is playing out at The Dragonfly at Los Angeles.

If I can hunt down a performance of Dirty Dancing Live or Roadhouse Live I can take a shot at doing my best Patrick Swayze impression while telling a captive audience everything from "Nobody puts baby in a corner" to "Pain don't hurt."

Point Break Live is "the absurdist stage adaptation" of the groundbreaking film where the part of Johnny Utah is cast from the audience at every performance.

So this is finally my chance to be Johnny Utah, the former college football star/FBI agent/surfer.

You can get an up-close and personal look at the show at http://tv.boingboing.net/2008/02/04/point-break-and-hear.html.

For my money, it's totally worth driving all the way down to Southern California for a shot at getting up on stage and saying, "Bodhi, this is your fucking wake-up call man. I am an F-B-I agent!"

Leave a Reply

