I think my head is going to explode

And I think my side is going to split from laughing.

Republican VP nominee Sarah Palin had her comment about having foreign policy experience because she can see Russian from her home state of Alaska come up and bite her in her beauty-queen butt today in an interview with CBS' Katie Couric.

If you haven't seen the video (http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=4478156n) feel free to read a wire story about it (http://blogs.reuters.com/trail08/2008/09/25/palin-defends-foreign-policy-experience/).

It ain't pretty.  Palin fumbles around like a confused little girl being grilled by her teacher in front of the class in grade school.  The fact that she's getting grilled by a cream puff like Couric is painful to watch … but oddly hilarious too.

To be fair, let's not pretend that Democratic vice-presidential nominee Joe Biden is a smooth talker.  The man did enthusiastically urge a man sitting in a a wheelchair to get up so everyone could see him at a rally (http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/opinion/chi-0925edit2sep25,0,2874359.story).

But I'm starting to catch on to why the McCain campaign braintrust doesn't offer Palin up for interviews or questions from the press very often. She seems a lot like that hot chick in high school who loks like the perfect woman from afar until you get up close she starts talking.

Palin should just admit that she's doesn't have any real foreign policy experience. Nothing to be ashamed of.  It happens.

I'll admit it, I don't have any foreign policy experience either.  See how easy it is to come clean and admit it? 

For my money, Palin should have looked Couric right in the eye and said, "Look Katie, I won't B.S. you like I B.S.ed that smug bastard Charlie Gibson on ABC.  I don't have one freakin' shred of foreign policy experience. But I've survived beauty pageants, freezing winters in Alaksa and I've killed a moose with my bare hands.  Do you really think a crazy foreigner like Vladdy Putin or Osama bin Laden would want a piece of that action if McCain croaked and I took over running the U.S. of A? Yeah, that's right, I didn't think so"

* I THINK WE HAVE A WINNER:  Arizona's Mark Reynolds swung and missed strike three for the 201st time this season to set a new MLB record.

I don't think my man Jack Cust is going to be able to overtake Reynolds and former record holder Ryan Howard by the end of the season.

With 192 Ks and just three games to go, Cust will probably be lucky to crack 200 strikeouts this season.

I'm actually intrigued by the idea of Oakland trading for Reynolds in the offseason.  Jose Canseco and Mark McGwire were the Bash Brothers in the late-'80s and there's no reason Cust and Reynolds couldn't join forces to be the Whiff Brothers next year.

On a certain level, a trade makes sense.

Oakland needs a right-handed power hitter who can play third base since Eric Chavez seems to be playing on borrowed time.  Huston Street clearly looks like offseason trade bait after falling behind Brad Ziegler and Joey Devine on the depth chart in the second half of the season.

Arizona could use a closer since Jon Rauch hasn't pitched well this year and Brandon Lyon will be a free agent.  The D'backs could deal Reynolds to Oakland, move Chad Tracy back to third base and plug in Street as their closer.

Crazier things have happened and these teams managed to strike a deal last offseason.  No reason they can't swap players one more time.

Leave a Reply

