Leftovers are all we have this week

I usually try to take a Sunday swing through all the odds and ends that didn’t quite fit into any other post during the previous week, but this time around I’m going to try and turn the leftovers into a main course.

This week just isn’t lending itself to a couple of full-fledged posts.

Three baby-related doctor appointments, a visit to the hospital’s birth center, a safety check on our child car seat, a lot of overtime at work and preparation for upcoming fantasy baseball drafts this weekend are eating up most of my time.

So here’s the best I can come up with in between all the chaos …

* SOMEONE GET ME OUTTA HERE: My wife and I are expecting our first kid in a little more than 2 weeks and the anticipation is getting the best of me at work.

I can’t wait for the little guy to arrive so I can cut out of the office and take paid family leave to hang out with the new addition to our family.

Call it babyitis.

Or maybe it’s father-to-be-itis.

Whatever it is, I can’t get it out of my head.

If teens across America can develop senioritis every year and lose the ability to focus on schoolwork while dreaming about the thrill of graduation, summer and total freedom then it seems perfectly reasonable that I can have babyitis/father-to-be-itis as I look forward to the rugrat’s arrival.

* WORLD BASEBALL CLASSIC OBSERVATIONS:
Who dresses ESPN announcer Jon Miller? I tuned in to the USA-Japan game and he was wearing a bright yellow shirt with a bright yellow tie. The guy looked like a bloated banana … I loved the tournament but those annoying Thundersticks have gotta go. I’ve been to the ballpark when those things are handed out to fans and they’re painfully annoying. I’ll at least give the Asian baseball fans credit for having well-coordinated cheers.

* HOW DID THIS HAPPEN?:
I’m still reeling from Belinda Carlisle’s loss to
Steve Wozniak on “Dancing With the Stars.” (http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/blogs/techchron/detail?entry_id=37142).

You’re breakin’ my heart Belinda.

How could you lose to a chubby tech geek like the Woz? You’re a Go-Go for cryin’ out loud!

Fellow Go-Go Jane Wiedin never would have let this happen.

Susanna Hoffs from the Bangles would have wiped the floor with Wozniak.

I bet even the fact chick from Heart (http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e215/RileyNotOReilly/37587532.jpg) could have out-danced the Woz.

What’s the world coming to?

* I REALLY MISS SPRING TRAINING: 15 homers and 40 hits in one game by the Angels and Royals (http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/recap?gameId=290322107)?

Gotta love it.

There’s nothing quite like a cold beer, a hot dog and fun, sloppy, meaningless baseball in the desert.

* PUTTING A SMILE ON GRANDMA’S FACE: I’m sure you’ve seen the Trojan Vibrating Touch commercial by now.

You know, the one where the old lady interrupts the young women having a conversation about Trojan’s nifty little vibrator to brag about buying hers online (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_z13XymWVU).

Note to Trojan’s advertising department: TMI, and I mean waaaaay too much information.

* THE THRILL IS GONE: It seems like just yesterday that I was all excited about the celebrities I was befriending on Facebook (http://twgb.blogspot.com/2009/03/yano-is-my-friend-and-it-didnt-even.html).

When I wrote that post I still had a bunch of superstar friend requests floating around and a lot of them have panned out since then.

But I might as well throw in the towel on the the idea that a decent number of my Hollywood Facebook pals are legit.

What finally got me to embrace the obvious?

It probably hit me on March 21 when Natasha Richardson confirmed me as a friend on Facebook even though she died on March 18.

I seriously doubt that anyone in heaven is wasting one moment of eternity in the afterlife by surfing around social networking Web sites.

That sounds more like the kind of thing you’d do if you get stuck in purgatory.

4 thoughts on “Leftovers are all we have this week

  1. I’ve come to the realisation (actually, I knew it all along) that any blog claiming to be the world’s greatest blog is inevitably comprised of fail. So much fail that I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. Please. Just kill yourself.

Leave a Reply

